Author Topic: Won't control more than the wiring run its plugged into  (Read 3401 times)

Howard_Woodard

Won't control more than the wiring run its plugged into
« on: December 01, 2013, 08:38:58 AM »
I'm new to this technology and this forum so if I should be asking my question differently or on a different board I won't be offended if you tell me. :)

We moved into a house that has three Radio Shack Plug'nPower (X10) lamp modules in the book cases. I noticed that the controller would only turn on/off/dim two of them. As I fiddled around with it I also noticed that if I plugged the controller into the outlet of the one that wasn't working then it would work but the other two would not.

Two were on one breaker and the third on another. The controller would only control those things on the same breaker that the controller was on. Both breakers are on the same phase -- visually observed and electrically measured. I even connected both cable runs to the same breaker and nothing changed -- the controller will only control the things that are on the same cable run that it is plugged into.

One of the breakers was a GCFI breaker so just to make certain it was not contributing to the problem I replaced it with a standard breaker. Since the symptom did not change when I connected both cable runs to the same breaker I didn't expect eliminating the GCFI to make any difference and it didn't.

I was under the understanding that X10 would work on everything that was on the same side of the transformer and on the same phase -- or everything if a phase coupler was used. Obviously that is completely true.

Does my description make sense? If so, does anyone know of a reason, or reasons, why I'm not able to control multiple cable runs?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Howard
Seattle, WA
Radio Shack X10 Plug'nPower

Jeff

• Administrator
    • Owner, JV Digital Engineering
Re: Won't control more than the wiring run its plugged into
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2013, 09:31:42 AM »