Author Topic: Alexa and X10  (Read 874 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Alexa and X10
« on: December 19, 2016, 09:37:45 AM »
It is possible to control X10 via voice with the amazon dot, echo or tap as well as Google home.
I just received an Amazon Dot and The VR is very good.
X10 wanted me to see how easy it was to setup a x10 system with Alexa so they shipped me one to experiment with.
I have this now working so well I think I'll use Alexa for all my HA.
I started a thread on the X10 forum about a free X10 software (Alex10) which does the basics however I may expand on this to Alexa enable my other HA software! ;)
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Jeff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 201
    • Owner, JV Digital Engineering
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2016, 07:19:34 AM »
I started a thread on the X10 forum about a free X10 software (Alex10) which does the basics however I may expand on this to Alexa enable my other HA software! ;)

Thanks!  I had already been following your discussion there, and gave links to a couple of other folks.

Jeff
X10 automation since the BSR days...

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2016, 05:23:22 AM »
Thanks Jeff,
From my experimenting here it looks like most anything you can do from your PC can be triggered with Alexa.
X10 users may have been slow to look at Alexa but I think most had some sort of Voice control prior.
Amazon and Google have since jumping on the VR band wagon improved it immensely.
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Brian H

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 169
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2016, 09:58:43 AM »
Must be gaining in popularity.
I believe both the Echo and Dot are now back ordered until late January 2017.

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2016, 12:45:12 PM »
Having a $10 price drop for an already inexpensive speaker/mic/Bluetooth/Wi-Fi device  caused lots of chatter on the web,
I suspect was the reason the Dot and echo are now on back order.


The Echo and Tap are said to have a much better speaker quality for music.
However I suspect the Tap to be less popular as it isn't totally hands free.
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

bkenobi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2016, 03:42:25 PM »
A lot of times when something goes out of stock all at once someone finds a neat hack to play with.  Anyone know if Dot or Echo have some new vulnerability people are playing with?

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2016, 07:39:01 AM »
I haven't heard of any thing. The team at Amazon are constantly adding improvements to the VR and things these can do.
I suspect they would be on top of that.
However this uses the cloud and ones Wi-Fi and we've all read horror stories with the internet of things.

X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2017, 06:59:14 AM »
Just in case users don't know this yet, I've setup a whole section for Alex10 (Alexa x10 control) on my forum.
This includes sub sections for support for Alex10 as well as the HA-bridge.;)

The thread on the X10 forum can get confusing to say the least. :(
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Jeff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 201
    • Owner, JV Digital Engineering
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2017, 07:05:15 AM »
Thank you for your wonderful support getting Alexa to work with X10.  I haven't changed anything since I originally got it working with your help, and it continues to work well.

Jeff
X10 automation since the BSR days...

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2017, 03:46:05 PM »
I'm happy it continues to perform well for you Jeff.

I believe most issues are in the initial setup of the bridge, however with the HA-Bridge continuing to get improvements users may be tempted to update it before I can include it in a new build.
This may result in some issues popping up before I see them.
I added a bug report section as well for Alex10 though I suspect most issues will be with the bridge setup as they have been in the past.
I test the new versions of the bridge in my setup prior to adding them to an update of Alex10 so the bridge version in it can be a bit behind. :(
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 229
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Alexa and X10
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2017, 07:15:48 AM »
For those that haven't notice or read elsewhere alex10 and the bridge have been updated to include more security.
This allows one to access the bridge from the web with some means of security.
Even if you don't plan on accessing the bridge from the internet it is strongly advised to update to the new Alex10 and enable the secure bridge. ;)
This way only users with authorization can access the bridge if your PC gets hacked.
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)