Author Topic: HomeGenie  (Read 27366 times)

alzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
HomeGenie
« on: September 10, 2013, 09:39:05 AM »
Anybody have experience with homeGenie as a replacement for AHP?

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2013, 02:38:19 PM »
I couldn't get it to see my CM15A. ???
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

kenrad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2013, 07:51:11 PM »
Me either It is not seeing the CM15a or my z-stick 2 so as of right now it seems like there is an issue with the interfaces connecting.  If I come up with something I will post the results

 ;)  Ken

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2013, 10:49:56 AM »
This software looks really promising!  I have a backup CM15A that I wouldn't mind trying this out on.  Of course, I'd still need to get a raspberry pi, but if someone can confirm this works with the x10 hardware, I'd jump in for a try.

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2013, 10:33:28 AM »
Home page
http://www.generoso.info/homegenie/

Sourceforge
http://sourceforge.net/projects/homegenie/

Also, according to a post on the HomeGenie forum, CM15A should be compatible.

Quote
HomeGenie can handle raw X10 RF data received by CM15A.
from http://sourceforge.net/p/homegenie/discussion/general/thread/2cd5006e/
« Last Edit: October 02, 2013, 10:36:00 AM by bkenobi »

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2013, 08:02:59 PM »
I was not able to get the CM15A to work either.  In my case it did detect the controller but it did not seem as though it could control any modules nor change the state based on commands sent through other controllers.

Brian H

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 175
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2013, 03:31:22 AM »
I have never used HomeGenie but have seen your post on their forums.

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2013, 09:48:20 AM »
I thought HG was detecting my CM15A because it was listed in the config menu.  I fired it up today to see if it was somehow looking at the wrong port and found that it displayed the CM15A as an option even when it wasn't plugged in.  So, it appears that I have no idea how to hook it up correctly.

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2013, 11:22:56 AM »
I got a response from Genie (the author of HomeGenie) on the SourceForge forum.  He suggested that the reason the CM15A might not work is that the CM15 Pro and CM15A have different device ID's and thus the code won't work out of the box.  He suggested simply duplicating the CM15 Pro library and changing the device ID to one that would pick up the CM15A.  Sounds reasonable...except that I don't know what device ID I should use.  Is this something that would appear in the Windows Device Manager?  If so, I could try this out and hopefully be pleasantly surprised by it working.   8)

From Genie:
Quote from: Genie at HomeGenie forum
You can get HG sourcecode and have a look to the CM15 driver:

HomeGenie\MIG\Support Libraries\XTenLib\Drivers\CM15.cs

I think that CM15A has a different device ID for the USB device:
Code: [Select]
// Marmitek CM15Pro usb interface
public UsbDeviceFinder MyUsbFinder = new UsbDeviceFinder(0x0BC7, 0x0001);
You could copy CM15.cs to CM15A.cs and change the UID with the CM15A one.


I also found this page that has info about the CM15A, but nothing on the deviceID.
http://www.codecoretechnologies.com/content/%28S%282borqndeadm4yzuaeqbdbaqm%29%29/CM15A%20Driver.ashx

Brian H

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 175
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2013, 12:23:07 PM »
You may want to look at USBDeview.
It shows all the USB devices that where connected to your computer.
Includes things like IDs and drivers it loads when connected.
Also lets you remove old USB modules in the computers list of known devices.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html

Brian H

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 175
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2013, 01:10:09 PM »
Another way that seems to show possibly what you need.
With the CM15A connected.
Open the Device Manager.
Universal Serial Buss Controllers. Area
Hi Light the X10 ActiveHome (ACPI-compliant) entry and look at the properties.

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2013, 01:53:23 PM »
The second option is what I was planning on initially to see if it showed anything useful.  I checked a mouse on my work PC and it didn't have anything that looked promising, but I'll check with a CM15A connected and hopefully have better luck.  That application looks like a good backup.

Brian H

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 175
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2013, 03:55:03 PM »
I just checked my Logitech USB mouse in Device Manager.
In the properties choice.
Details Tab I found things like IDs etc.

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2013, 06:55:43 PM »
I'm not sure why HomeGenie won't pick up my CM15A.  I checked USBDeview on 2 machines with 2 different controllers and both stated that VID=0BC7 and PID=0001, which is exactly what the Marmitek CM15 Pro apparently uses.  I've seen a number of posts about Raspberry Pi and the CM15A, so perhaps when I try this on mine, it will work better.  Not sure what else to say...

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 103
Re: HomeGenie
« Reply #14 on: December 04, 2013, 09:31:44 PM »
I'm just going to give a little update for anyone who may be considering alternatives to AHP with an embedded type controller.  I've been testing a Raspberry Pi running HomeGenie for a few days.  I tried Freedomotic, but I wasn't able to figure it out.  As for HomeGenie, it does work with the CM15A and I'm starting to understand how it's intended to be used.  I can't recommend it quite yet, but I can at least say it does allow me to control lights and a chime.

 

succession-resounding