Author Topic: APC BR1500G Filter?  (Read 138 times)

bcwmachine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
APC BR1500G Filter?
« on: July 19, 2017, 02:19:16 AM »
Have a pair of signal sucking APC BR1500G ups's. 1500VA, 865Watts. Do I go with 10A or 15A Filters?
Just to check, I put a couple of xppf's on them low load on ups's. about tripled the signal level on xtbm pro but I don't think I should use 5 amp filters on them. Don''t really want any fires.
Bruce

Brian H

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 172
Re: APC BR1500G Filter?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2017, 03:16:54 AM »
Do not use an XPPF. They maybe rated for five amps but I can tell you if you push then any where close to five amps. They will smell like something overheating and the plastic coil forms start melting.

I can't say about the BR1500G. I had a smaller BR1000G on a ten amp Smarthome FilterLinc with no issues.

I have also observed on an XTBM. How much of a signal sucker the UPS's AC input power line condition can be.

Jeff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 205
    • Owner, JV Digital Engineering
Re: APC BR1500G Filter?
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2017, 07:06:32 AM »
Have a pair of signal sucking APC BR1500G ups's. 1500VA, 865Watts. Do I go with 10A or 15A Filters?

1500VA means they can pull 12 amps (1500VA / 125V), so I would recommend a 15A filter.

Jeff
« Last Edit: July 19, 2017, 07:10:36 AM by Jeff »
X10 automation since the BSR days...

bkenobi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 101
Re: APC BR1500G Filter?
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2017, 07:57:37 AM »
Since basically all consumer electronics are used on 15A circuits (talking plug in, not hard wired), it's safe to say that a 15A filter would not be a problem.  If the device is small (phone charger), going with the smaller one (5-10A) works.  I haven't used a plugin 15A filter but that would be my vote if the cost were the same.  All of my filters are 10A SmartHome FilterLinc units.  I do have a couple custom XPF modules around, but those are likely significantly overkill for the installation I have.  If those ever fail, I'll be moving to another FilterLinc.

bcwmachine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: APC BR1500G Filter?
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2017, 11:38:45 AM »
That answered the question of use VA or Watts for figuring amps. Thank you.
Bruce