Author Topic: Broadlink RM Pro  (Read 56 times)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 235
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Broadlink RM Pro
« on: July 10, 2017, 05:26:50 AM »
I've had one of these cheap units for several months but just started to use it with X10.
It learns IR and RF codes so it is like a universal remote.
It has a Smartphone app to enable one to control devices with your smartphone but it is possible to use it with Alexa.

Recently I started to program X10 codes into the app which I rarely used due to my phones small size.
I got a new phone with a larger screen so I may use it more.
However I had been using the  RM bridge app running on my android box and HA-Bridge with Alex10 to control with Alexa.
I've started to add x10 codes to the RM Bridge app just as a test however this may lead to not needing a PC to be running 24/7 ;)
Since codes can be share with other users from the eControl app with a cloud connection I uploaded some codes for X10.

Problem is the RM bridge can't get these codes. The RM bridge still allows exporting and importing of codes however there is no cloud based way to share.
I started a thread on my forum for posting of RM Bridge codes the thread starts with HC "L" which I use at the cottage.
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=1163.0
« Last Edit: July 10, 2017, 05:41:47 AM by Tuicemen »
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Jeff

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 205
    • Owner, JV Digital Engineering
Re: Broadlink RM Pro
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 06:30:45 AM »
Thank you for continuing to support this Forum.

Jeff
X10 automation since the BSR days...

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 235
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Broadlink RM Pro
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2017, 10:51:11 AM »
My pleasure.
I'm very happy with the X10 RF range of this unit.
he fact that I can now control my x10 As well as other RF and IR devices form my smartphone is a nice addition to my setup.
Being able to control the same devices with Alexa is a bonus. :)

X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 235
  • Software Developer
    • Tuicemens Software
Re: Broadlink RM Pro
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2017, 08:18:40 AM »
I had read this thing had thermometer built in.
Today I found out how to access it, adding an air conditioner will display the current temperature of the broadlink :)
Since I don't have an air conditioner I never played with this remote option in the app.
Something new to look into, maybe a fan can be triggered to come on for cooling and something else for heat. ;)
X10 turned me into a Software programmer.
A warning label should have been added ;)

 

succession-resounding