JVDE X10 Forum

General Discussion => X10 General Topics => Topic started by: alzy on September 10, 2013, 09:39:05 AM

Title: HomeGenie
Post by: alzy on September 10, 2013, 09:39:05 AM
Anybody have experience with homeGenie as a replacement for AHP?
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: Tuicemen on September 10, 2013, 02:38:19 PM
I couldn't get it to see my CM15A. ???
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: kenrad on September 10, 2013, 07:51:11 PM
Me either It is not seeing the CM15a or my z-stick 2 so as of right now it seems like there is an issue with the interfaces connecting.  If I come up with something I will post the results

 ;)  Ken
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on September 25, 2013, 10:49:56 AM
This software looks really promising!  I have a backup CM15A that I wouldn't mind trying this out on.  Of course, I'd still need to get a raspberry pi, but if someone can confirm this works with the x10 hardware, I'd jump in for a try.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on October 02, 2013, 10:33:28 AM
Home page
http://www.generoso.info/homegenie/

Sourceforge
http://sourceforge.net/projects/homegenie/

Also, according to a post on the HomeGenie forum, CM15A should be compatible.

Quote
HomeGenie can handle raw X10 RF data received by CM15A.
from http://sourceforge.net/p/homegenie/discussion/general/thread/2cd5006e/
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on November 06, 2013, 08:02:59 PM
I was not able to get the CM15A to work either.  In my case it did detect the controller but it did not seem as though it could control any modules nor change the state based on commands sent through other controllers.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: Brian H on November 07, 2013, 03:31:22 AM
I have never used HomeGenie but have seen your post on their forums.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on November 09, 2013, 09:48:20 AM
I thought HG was detecting my CM15A because it was listed in the config menu.  I fired it up today to see if it was somehow looking at the wrong port and found that it displayed the CM15A as an option even when it wasn't plugged in.  So, it appears that I have no idea how to hook it up correctly.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on November 20, 2013, 11:22:56 AM
I got a response from Genie (the author of HomeGenie) on the SourceForge forum.  He suggested that the reason the CM15A might not work is that the CM15 Pro and CM15A have different device ID's and thus the code won't work out of the box.  He suggested simply duplicating the CM15 Pro library and changing the device ID to one that would pick up the CM15A.  Sounds reasonable...except that I don't know what device ID I should use.  Is this something that would appear in the Windows Device Manager?  If so, I could try this out and hopefully be pleasantly surprised by it working.   8)

From Genie:
Quote from: Genie at HomeGenie forum
You can get HG sourcecode and have a look to the CM15 driver:

HomeGenie\MIG\Support Libraries\XTenLib\Drivers\CM15.cs

I think that CM15A has a different device ID for the USB device:
Code: [Select]
// Marmitek CM15Pro usb interface
public UsbDeviceFinder MyUsbFinder = new UsbDeviceFinder(0x0BC7, 0x0001);
You could copy CM15.cs to CM15A.cs and change the UID with the CM15A one.


I also found this page that has info about the CM15A, but nothing on the deviceID.
http://www.codecoretechnologies.com/content/%28S%282borqndeadm4yzuaeqbdbaqm%29%29/CM15A%20Driver.ashx
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: Brian H on November 20, 2013, 12:23:07 PM
You may want to look at USBDeview.
It shows all the USB devices that where connected to your computer.
Includes things like IDs and drivers it loads when connected.
Also lets you remove old USB modules in the computers list of known devices.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: Brian H on November 20, 2013, 01:10:09 PM
Another way that seems to show possibly what you need.
With the CM15A connected.
Open the Device Manager.
Universal Serial Buss Controllers. Area
Hi Light the X10 ActiveHome (ACPI-compliant) entry and look at the properties.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on November 20, 2013, 01:53:23 PM
The second option is what I was planning on initially to see if it showed anything useful.  I checked a mouse on my work PC and it didn't have anything that looked promising, but I'll check with a CM15A connected and hopefully have better luck.  That application looks like a good backup.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: Brian H on November 20, 2013, 03:55:03 PM
I just checked my Logitech USB mouse in Device Manager.
In the properties choice.
Details Tab I found things like IDs etc.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on November 20, 2013, 06:55:43 PM
I'm not sure why HomeGenie won't pick up my CM15A.  I checked USBDeview on 2 machines with 2 different controllers and both stated that VID=0BC7 and PID=0001, which is exactly what the Marmitek CM15 Pro apparently uses.  I've seen a number of posts about Raspberry Pi and the CM15A, so perhaps when I try this on mine, it will work better.  Not sure what else to say...
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on December 04, 2013, 09:31:44 PM
I'm just going to give a little update for anyone who may be considering alternatives to AHP with an embedded type controller.  I've been testing a Raspberry Pi running HomeGenie for a few days.  I tried Freedomotic, but I wasn't able to figure it out.  As for HomeGenie, it does work with the CM15A and I'm starting to understand how it's intended to be used.  I can't recommend it quite yet, but I can at least say it does allow me to control lights and a chime.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: Brian H on December 05, 2013, 03:22:51 AM
Sounds like you are starting to make some progress.
Thanks for keeping us in the loop and sharing your findings.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: hawk1 on December 05, 2013, 05:45:32 AM
How did you get it to finally see your CM15?
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on December 05, 2013, 06:10:31 AM
I tried multiple installations, multiple computers, multiple windows versions, and multiple CM15A's.  Nothing worked for me.  I tried one attempt with the RasPi and it worked.  I actually have a thread at the HG forum that Genie offered advice, but it didn't work out.  The RasPi was the final goal for me anyway, so I'm not concerned about windows issues particularly.
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on December 21, 2013, 04:53:49 PM
I just got an email from Gene (the author of HomeGenie) indicating that he had fixed the Windows CM15A compatibility (v1.00 beta r317 and newer).  I installed it on my Win7 laptop and it does in fact send commands correctly now, so if anyone is interested in testing it, Windows is now an option.  Enjoy!
Title: Re: HomeGenie
Post by: bkenobi on March 07, 2014, 08:08:18 AM
In case anyone is following this progress, I have a bit of an update:

I've been testing HG for a few months now.  It sits behind a FilterLinc so it doesn't actually control anything, but it gives me the opportunity to tinker with the scripting to verify I can get my most complicated feature working (motion controlled entry lights with a twist).  I am by no means a C# programmer, so it took some time to get the code working, but I was able to work out the final kinks a couple days ago.

Sweet!  Well, sorta.  The code works correctly but not quite as well as AHP in terms of speed.  The issue is centered around the use of an override switch (ToggleLinc) to force the lights on/off even if the motion sensor has been tripped.  My current setup (ToggleLinc->PLC->CM15A->AHP SDK->AHK script->AHP SDK->CM15A->PLC->WS13A) consistently takes just under 2 seconds to turn on/off the light when the switch is triggered. 

The new setup is the same except for the use of AHP and the AHK script.  Instead, I use a Raspberry Pi based HomeGenie to receive the command and a C# script to process the command and send out the response.  In the case of the new setup, it takes between 2-4 seconds.  If I had to guess, the difference is that AHP is event driven (processing the command as soon as it comes in) whereas HG is polling at some interval for state changes.  That's the only reason I can think of for a random response time.

The WAF for a <2s light was low but acceptable considering that the rest of the setup worked perfectly with AHP (after their servers returned).  The WAF for a 4 second light is exactly zero!  So, unless the author of HG can come up with a solution to improve the response I'll likely have to consider a different option.

I am currently looking at Domoticz as that option.  It has all of the features of HG plus a lot more.  The main reason I picked HG initially was that it worked with Windows so I could look at it before buying the Raspi and had a prebuilt SD card image.  Domoticz did not work when I tried it initially, but it has a SD card image now too that works out of the box.