JVDE X10 Forum

General Discussion => X10 General Topics => Topic started by: kentm on August 28, 2013, 01:20:31 PM

Title: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: kentm on August 28, 2013, 01:20:31 PM
Does any one have any idea as to the status of any software updates or new versions? Did anyone pick up that roll when they went away?
Thanks
Kent
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Brian H on August 28, 2013, 03:16:12 PM
Tuicemen is working on some ways to get AHP to work. With the European AHP that does not use registration numbers.
Right now some plug in that used the X10 servers no longer work and new installs using the X10 servers also fails.
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?board=44.0
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?board=67.0
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: dave w on August 28, 2013, 03:24:13 PM
X10 Pro-USA seens to have found other manufacturers to make certain X10 products. As far as the North American version of AHP, if anyone might have the legal blessings to take over AHP it would likely be these guys. You might check with them. http://x10pro-usa.com/about-us

I believe Marmitek has full rights on their European version http://www.marmitek.com/en/product/09793.

Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on August 28, 2013, 03:42:11 PM
Other then the Marmetec version of AHP there is no other software that will upload to the Cm15a.
However there are several third party software solutions that offer just as many options if not more then the AHP software package. ;)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: kentm on August 28, 2013, 05:07:35 PM
Thanks for the info. Fortunately, my CM15 seems to functioning properly and I have a system that does what I want. I would sure hate to have to start over.
Thanks again
Kent
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on August 29, 2013, 04:22:20 AM
For those that have working Active home pro set up you need to back up your AHP  files.
These are not only those found in the ActiveHome Pro folder!
If users get  the Active Home has fail to load error it is most likely due to a corrupt file and is usually the x10active.Xml that has been corrupted.
This file is found in different places depending on the version of windows AHP was installed.
I myself have had issues with this file several times in the past, a simple power outage shutting down your PC can corrupt this file.
The X10active.xml isn't rewritten with a fresh install so this and your ahx files are critical files.
On a XP machine the folders are:
C:\Program Files\ActiveHome Pro
C\Program Files\Common Files\X10 Settings
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\X10 Settings
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Active Home Professional
 
On Vista/Win7/Win8 locations are:
C:\Program Files\ActiveHome Pro
C\Program Files\Common Files\X10 Settings
C:\Users\All Users\Application Data\X10 Settings
C:\Users\All Users\Application Data\Active Home Professional

Of coarse a windows restore can help but on occasions I've had these fail. So don't depend solely on it ;)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Brian H on September 10, 2013, 03:36:17 PM
Someone on the Smarthome Forums. Said they got AHP to install and got around the down X10 server issues.
http://www.smarthome.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=13521
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on September 11, 2013, 04:12:50 AM
I have used wireshark (http://www.wireshark.org/download.html) in the past to find info transmitted/received over the network.
Never thought of using it here!  :-[
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Stickman on October 03, 2013, 08:26:40 AM
For those that have working Active home pro set up you need to back up your AHP  files.
These are not only those found in the ActiveHome Pro folder!
If users get  the Active Home has fail to load error it is most likely due to a corrupt file and is usually the x10active.Xml that has been corrupted.
This file is found in different places depending on the version of windows AHP was installed.
I myself have had issues with this file several times in the past, a simple power outage shutting down your PC can corrupt this file.
The X10active.xml isn't rewritten with a fresh install so this and your ahx files are critical files.
On a XP machine the folders are:
C:\Program Files\ActiveHome Pro
C\Program Files\Common Files\X10 Settings
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\X10 Settings
C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Active Home Professional
 
On Vista/Win7/Win8 locations are:
C:\Program Files\ActiveHome Pro
C\Program Files\Common Files\X10 Settings
C:\Users\All Users\Application Data\X10 Settings
C:\Users\All Users\Application Data\Active Home Professional

Of coarse a windows restore can help but on occasions I've had these fail. So don't depend solely on it ;)

I also found that on my W7 64bit install, there are AHP files in these locations:

   C:\ProgramData\Active Home Professional\

   C:\ProgramData\X10 Settings\

   C:\Users\All Users\ProgramData\Active Home Professional\

   C:\Users\All Users\ProgramData\X10 Settings

   C:\Program Files (x86)\ActiveHome Pro\

   C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\X10\

I also see there are many entries in the registry as well. To be safe I just did a fresh image of the whole drive. It would be nice to just get the full install files of AHP wouldn't it :)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Knightrider on December 08, 2013, 09:08:18 AM
OK. Here's the deal. I run some custom software on one of my machines that detects the local fire tones off a police scanner, then records for 35 seconds and emails an audio file to cell phones to many many people in our county. It is a modified version of TwoToneDetect by Andy Knitt, except mine uses many many originating email adresses according to type of tone.
Around the time X10 went kaput, my machine's tcp/ip settings started to lock up and the system failed until I shut down AHP and X10nets. Thanks to some of the gurus here a thend over at tuicemen.com, I designed a script that shut down all x10 software and restart it every hour to keep the internet flowing. This has become annoying, but is necessary.
Now for the million dollar question:
Has the return of x10's servers been fully reinstated so that AHP can sucessfully phone home, or do I need to keep stopping and restarting the service? Does active phone work again?
I was ready to ditch x10 altogether at one point last fall, but hope springs eternal. I would love to see registrations working again, as I did burn up another machine in September, and had to do the Marmitec trick to get ahp back. All plug ins installed and registered, but the AHP itself keeps nagging. I lost my original AHP reg code (was to Tim Forehand anyway) but had an Active Phone reg in my name (replaces simple AHP reg). I humbly await your response.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on December 08, 2013, 09:41:08 AM
Currently X10 servers are not working
Quote from: http://www.x10.com/about-us/
  Activehome servers are currently offline. X10 WTI had this software hosted on dedicated servers. During X10 WTI's Bankruptcy, these servers were shut down and alot of the data was lost. We are working with networking and database professionals to try to gather this broken data and get ActiveHome back online. We are doing all we can to re-enable this software for past and future X10 customers.
 
Hopefully us old timers won't be left high and dry. :(
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Knightrider on December 08, 2013, 11:14:12 AM
I hope they get it working soon. my forehead is already getting flat.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: bkenobi on December 09, 2013, 02:50:20 PM
My TCP/IP started flaking out a few months back and I have been looking at replacing my whole HA setup with a RasPi.  Are you suggesting that AHP is the primary culprit in the network failure?  I never considered that, but it would be nice to have a link to the thread where you discussed this and the solution?  My fix I had been using was a script that checked for ping capability to a set of servers.  If it failed, I'd have the system restart.  This caused problems for certain scripts that lost their last value, so I simply accepted that the networking was toast.  I want to get it going again, but I had up until just now accepted that would only happen once I formatted the HA server and converted it back to a full time file server.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Knightrider on December 10, 2013, 06:10:37 PM
Try shutting down AHP and X10nets next time it flakes. Think the thread on this is at tuicemen.com
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: bkenobi on December 10, 2013, 09:01:58 PM
I restarted the HA server with AHP removed from the startup list.  The network has been dead within a couple hours, but this evening it was working great.  I'll have to try again with AHP enabled as you suggested.  Thanks for posting the thread!
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on December 11, 2013, 06:18:17 AM
it has been reported that some of the X10 servers are back online.
the one that x10nets checks is one that appears to be up again. ;)
can software links be far behind?
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: DavidW on February 09, 2014, 05:57:27 AM
Like a lot of people on these forums I had a working version of AH Pro and made the mistake of upgrading to Marmitek.  Lost many of the HA functions that were working fine.  I had AH Pro 3.236 and the Marmitek version was 3.316.  I could switch things on and off from the PC but the timers and Dusk overrides did not work.  Basically the Marmitek version has glitches.  Modules would switch on at a time grayed out in the box.  So I tried to find a solution and here's what X10 is saying as of 5 Feb 2014

Dear Customer,
 
Thank you for contacting us.
 
 Here is a link to better help you understand what has transpired and who we are. http://www.x10.com/about-us/
 
Reactivation of the ActiveHome Software - Activehome servers are currently offline. X10 WTI had this software hosted on dedicated servers. During X10 WTI's Bankruptcy, these servers were shut down and alot of the data was lost. We are working with networking and database professionals to try to gather this broken data and get ActiveHome back online. We are doing all we can to re-enable this software for past and future X10 customers.
 
 Please feel free to contact us if you have any additional questions.
 
 Sincerely,
 
Mike K.

Thanks X10.

I found a PC with the old AH Pro on but for some reason it is not working the same as the one I upgraded.  I have A3 and A7 coming on at dusk - 1 hr but A5, A8 and A10 which are supposed to come on at the same time  don't come on.  I have a CM15A interface which I cleared, a coupler, a signal booster.  I moved the CM15A to another receptacle and no change.  Thinking of trying something other than AH like iHouse.  Everything works from the PC and by RF.

Just wonder if it's worth waiting for X10 to get their shit together.  Any thoughts?

Why is X10 stuff so unpredictable and problematic?  There's a market for someone that can get HA right!!!
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Jeff on February 09, 2014, 06:59:52 AM
There are alternatives to ActiveHome Pro that run on a PC and use the CM15A or CM11A as a powerline interface.  Some are listed here:

    http://jvde.us/forum/index.php?topic=36.0

Prices vary from free to very expensive.  One limited X10-only version that I use for testing the XTB-232 is Home Control Assistant.

Jeff
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on April 27, 2014, 04:39:03 PM
With X10 servers still down many have shifted to using third party software.
These still rely on x10nets and maybe other files found in the SDK.
If you installed the SDK or x10 hardware drivers after version 3.318 of AHP you have a old version of the x10nets.
This can cause a third party program to not perform as designed and AHP to perform badly.
see: http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28793.msg161236#msg161236
 ;)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on April 28, 2014, 02:54:40 PM
In my correspondence with the new owner of X10 he has indicated they have a development team working on creating a full installer of AHP.
Seems they have found some code (no mention of how old it is) and it doesn't appear to be complete. ::)
Hopefully they follow threw with opening it up and not requiring a registration.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: dave w on April 28, 2014, 04:49:34 PM
Seems they have found some code (no mention of how old it is) and it doesn't appear to be complete. ::)
Wow, what a surprise.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: bkenobi on April 28, 2014, 07:23:02 PM
Sometimes code can be recompiled depending on the flags used in the compiler.  I wonder if anyone has attempted this since there are really no worries about X10 complaining?  There would be no comments, but it might provide code with understandable variable names.  My guess...uselessk but it seems worth a try for someone with that skill set.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Brian H on April 29, 2014, 03:23:35 AM
Tuicemen has released a full installer for AHP 3.318.
Details on the X10 Forums.
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28795.msg161243#msg161243
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on April 30, 2014, 10:05:55 AM
The installer is still only an unregistered version and looks for registration info from a encrypted file, if it can't find it you'll get the registration nag. :(
However there are a couple of x10 programmers working to fix this from different angles.
One is attempting to recreate a new registration server and make a universal registration key.
Another is attempting to recode AHP so the registration keys are hard coded like that of the Marmitek version.  ;)
Hopefully one will have success shortly. ::)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on April 30, 2014, 03:42:21 PM
Seems like the old X10WTI didn't believe in storing all their eggs in one basket.
Seems the code for AHP is spread over several PCs and some are proving difficult to access.
Not to mention the code is written in net 2003 C++ and I'm told it will not convert to a newer version. ??? ::)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: birdzeye on June 22, 2014, 05:25:32 AM
Tuicemen has released a full installer for AHP 3.318.
Details on the X10 Forums.
http://forums.x10.com/index.php?topic=28795.msg161243#msg161243

I can't connect to this link---is it broken? Weird, because I had just signed in there yesterday and posted a comment and now I can't access forums.x10.com at all.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Brian H on June 22, 2014, 06:37:30 AM
The X10 forums seem to be down.
I could not access the X10 forum or the X10 Wiki late yesterday or this morning.
I know the X10WTI Servers where real old and maybe one of them has a problem again.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: birdzeye on June 22, 2014, 05:12:58 PM
Shoot. I was hoping to find out how to install AHP on my new Windows 7 install. Oh well.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Brian H on June 23, 2014, 03:16:54 AM
If you have not looked in Tuicemen's Forums.
There is lots of good information on AHP there.
http://tuicemen.com/forum/
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on June 23, 2014, 05:04:08 AM
I just sent the new IT guy and owner a email regarding the forum so hopefully it will be back up later today.
As Brian stated there is info and links to AHP installers on my forum. ;)
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Brian H on June 23, 2014, 06:47:12 AM
Your email worked.
The X10 Forums are accessible again.
I just checked. The X10 Wiki is also accessible.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on June 23, 2014, 02:12:07 PM
Thanks Brian,
I got a reply back and it was a server issue a simple reboot fixed the issue.
They expect it is the old software that may have caused it as they have seen this before they just haven't nailed down the exact cause yet.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on November 23, 2014, 01:28:45 PM
After many attempts I have managed to take a unregistered AHP build to a registered build on several PCs. ;)
This process isn't that difficult but requires info from a working registered copy of AHP.
I'd like to create something that will automate this process however I need info from someone that has such a copy and all plug-ins registered to Tim Forehand (the deceased original owner of Authinx)
If someone has such a copy please PM me.
Title: Re: How has the X10 demise effected the AHP software?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 05, 2015, 03:34:51 PM
I now have AHP Lifejacket built to auto register AHP, Smartmacros, Onalert, iWatchout, and Myhouse Online.
Authinx has given the go ahead to release it so now every one can have a registered AHP!  :)

This will have AHP come up registered to me and is currently available on my site:
http://tuicemen.com/forum/index.php?topic=806.0
It should be noted this hasn't stopped Authinx from trying to resurrect the AHP code in hopes of bettering it.